Reflecting on 2016, Part 1 = Best Memories

(Note: For the next few days, I’ll be reflecting on 2016 and planning for 2017. You are welcome to join my thoughts and meditations.)

Number 1 copy.jpg

Reflecting on 2016 part 1: Best Moments:

2016 definitely had some amazing moments. It was a different kind of year for me, and yet it was also filled with many moments that made it wonderful. I’m going to list them (in no particular order).

– My family had a reunion this year for the first time in nine years. We’ve met up in stages along the way, but this was the first time in nine years that our entire family was together–that’s two parents, nine siblings, two in-laws, and two grandkids. It really was an awesome time.

– I performed my first wedding this year. I’ve been a wedding planner for many of my friends, but in Jan 2016 I was given the opportunity to officiate the wedding of two dear friends of mine. One more item off the bucket list!

– Speaking of bucket lists, my dad and I were able to cross another item off it in December when we traced my father’s ancestral roots back to the ancient village of Thirumur where my dad’s family lineage went back over 2000 years.

– I did a speaking tour of Nepal for the first time. I’ve always wanted to visit that country but never had the opportunity to until November of 2016. I spent one of the best weeks of my year in that beautiful country surrounded by amazing people.

– I was able to spend 30 days on a road trip across the country to deliver Christmas gifts to 1250 elderly people in nine different cities. It was a trip filled with adventures–including a drive through a cyclone. It was also a trip filled with amazing, heartwarming memories. Definitely one of the highlights of my year.

– My brother Peter got admission into a sports academy in Spain to pursue his life-long dream of being a professional basketball player. At the same time, my brother Kiran got a sports scholarship to play basketball for one of the best high schools in the country.

– Launched the “Be Your Own Hero” events that I hope will change the lives of many across the world in the coming years.

Leave a Reply

