“Reflecting on 2016” part 2 = My Biggest Disappointments

“Reflecting on 2016” part 2: Biggest Disappointments:

Number 2 copy.jpg

(Note: For the next few days, I’ll be reflecting on 2016 and planning for 2017. You are welcome to join my thoughts and meditations. Have fun getting to know the “real me.”)

I had a few reservations about posting this section, because I am not someone who likes to focus too much on the negative. I tend to look for the positive in each thing that I come across, so I was hesitant to post something that had a negative focus. But life has its ups and downs and the way that one generally learns from life is through the “downs.” So in order for me to clearly define and express my lessons for 2017, I need to outline the disappointments of 2016 that lead me to learn them. Once again, these are in no particular order.

– One big disappointment for me was that a few of my speaking tours failed to materialise. At the beginning of the year, I had engagements in South America and the UK. At the end of the year, both had failed to materialise. I had turned down other offers because I was focusing on those and ended up missing out. In other words, I had kept all my eggs in one basket and that basket fell off my bicycle.

– Another disappointment for me was that I didn’t complete the writing of my book. I was hoping to have it done in time for a Jan 2017 release, but I didn’t allocate enough time and focus to it as I needed. I underestimated the time needed and overestimated what I could accomplish in that time.

– Another disappointment for me was that I failed to give enough focus to my health through the year. I put a lot of effort into my projects and my seminars and my talks and my events, but I often let my health get crowded out of my schedule. While I was accumulating experience and success, I was also accumulating kilos and health issues. I now am ahead in my career life, but also behind on my health life and it’s already costing me. In the words of a teacher that I admire so much, “This I ought to have done while not leaving the other undone.”

– Another disappointment–and I think that this was my biggest disappointment of the year–was the fact that I went through it so fast. My mind tends to work in boxes. I can define my year by projects and events. I know in Jan this thing happens, in Feb these two things happen, in March is this event, etc. My problem last year was that I went from project to project, from event to event, from month to month. All my focus was consumed by the current project and when it was done, my focus was immediately taken up by the next one. While the work was important, I realised that during that time I forgot to live. I had forgotten to enjoy life. I had forgotten to take time with my family. I had forgotten to be present at each moment. I took a sort of pride in being busy, not realising what I was losing in my busyness.

That’s the summary of my disappointments in 2016. Join me soon to hear about my lessons that I learnt that I’m going to apply to 2017.

 

Leave a Reply

